Copa de Campeones de Juvenil: Tournament preview

The draw has now been made for one of the most prestigious youth competitions in Spain, the Copa de Campeones de Juvenil.

It’s a competition that brings together the 7 winners of their respective División de Honor Juvenil groups, plus the best second placed team. The overall conclusion is to determine who has the best team at this important level across the country. Many players who have featured in the past have gone on to bigger and better things, so it’s an excellent chance to catch a glimpse of some of the most exciting talent in Spain at a highly competetive level. It’s no surprise then, that scouts from Spain, UK and Italy flock upon the tournament.

Players to watch at this tournament to watch include: Juan Delgado (Valencia), Rufo, Albert Miravent (Espanyol), Álex Rubio (Sevilla), Álvaro Bustos and Alex García (Sporting), Héctor (Las Palmas), Jean Marie Dongou, Sergi Samper (Barça), Óliver Torres, Iván Calero (Atlético Madrid) and Joseba Muguruza (Real Sociedad).

Sporting Gijón came from Group 1, with 69 points ahead of Racing Santander. Real Sociedad took Group 2, with Athletic Bilbao finishing second. Enthralling last day drama in Group 3 saw Espanyol come through as winner, with Barcelona – holders of the trophy – finishing up second. The Catalans are the best second placed team here. Sevilla took Group 4, while Atlético Madrid won a fiercely contested Group 5, finishing ahead of both Rayo Vallecano and Real Madrid respectively. Las Palmas took Group 6, with a 10 point advantage over Tenerife and finally Valencia triumphed in Group 7.

The first edition was held in 1995, and it has grown in status ever since. Real Madrid currently hold the most wins, with five, while Barcelona and Real Sociedad have two each. All the games are held in Lepe, Huelva at the Estadio Ciudad de Lepe. You can view the games via Marca TV.

The draw as follows:

Group A
1-. Valencia
2-. Sevilla
3-. Sporting Gijón
4-. Real Sociedad

Group B
1-. UD Las Palmas
2-. Atlético Madrid
3-. FC Barcelona
4-. Espanyol

The schedule as follows:

Monday, April 30, 2012: Groups

1)     10:30: Valencia – Sevilla

2)     12:45: Sporting Gijón – Real Sociedad

3)     18:00: FC Barcelona – Espanyol

4)     20:30: UD Las Palmas –  Atlético Madrid

Wednesday, May 2, 2012: Semi-Finals

5)     17:30: Winner Game 1) vs. Winner Game 2

6)     20:00: Winner Game 3) vs. Winner Game 4)

Saturday, May 5, 2012: Final

7)     18:00: Winner Game 5) – Winner Game 6)

*All times are Spanish local, GMT +1.

As was the case last year, I will be following the tournament – though I won’t be attending this year. If you wish to see my reports from the 2010/2011 edition then you can do so via the links below.


Group stage round-up

‘El Clásico final’